Rollins Announces 2024 Student Achievement Awards

April 25, 2024

By Jessica Firpi ’11

Student Achievement Award winners 2024

The College recognized nearly 50 students for their academic achievements and positive contributions to campus and the community at the 2024 Student Awards Banquet.

Rollins’ annual Student Achievement Awards celebrate this year’s outstanding crop of students who live out the Rollins mission of global citizenship and responsible leadership each day.

Fiat Lux Award Winners

Fiat Lux Awards honor outstanding Rollins seniors for their positive contributions to our campus and community in the areas of academics, leadership, inclusion, and service. The award recognizes the most established and honorable leaders on campus.

  • Makena Katherine Keakamahina Bassett
  • Nora Belakbir
  • Peyton Amber Connor
  • Bianca Filoni
  • Alise Fortune
  • Sophie Foster
  • Daniela Golob
  • Aqsa Hasan
  • Liam Taylor King
  • John Kirkley III
  • Adam Zakaria Lahlou
  • Victoria Santa Lucia
  • Nour Mansour
  • Renata Garcia Manzano
  • Jaheim Morris
  • Natasha Mulenga
  • Erica Mungin
  • Fatima Abdullahi Sani
  • Ferah Shaikh

Academic Awards

Each year, the six academic divisions come together to select one recipient who best espouses the values of the College’s mission and the academic rigor required for success.

Business Jonathon Kriegbauam and Olivia Tamburlini
Expressive Arts Laura Luiza Makarios Powalisz
Humanities Alise Fortune
Interdisciplinary Adam Lahlou
Mathematics and Science Ferah Shaikh
Social Sciences Helene Gilis and Peyton Connor
Social Sciences Applied Anna Kuper

SGA Members of the Year

Recognizes the Student Government Association members who made the biggest impact during the academic year

  • Lina Baly
  • Madison Webster-Rivera

Emerging Leader of the Year

Recognizes a student who has just begun their leadership journey at Rollins and continues to show promise and strong potential

  • Ricardo Pierre

Student Leader of the Year

Recognizes student leaders who have demonstrated the highest level of leadership and a strong and lasting impact in multiple areas of campus

  • Peyton Poitras

Gateway Student Leader Award

Recognizes a student for actively engaging on campus, making meaning of the mission of the College, and helping their peers make a difference

  • Bobby Sena

Global Ambassador of the Year

Recognizes a student who brings international experience and perspective to Rollins through their passion for global citizenship

  • Sarah Hussey

Student Employee of the Year

Recognizes a student who has demonstrated excellence in their on-campus position by completing outstanding work in the following areas: reliability, quality of work, initiative, professionalism, and uniqueness of contribution

  • Katherine Kim

Fraternity and Sorority Life Leaders of the Year

Recognizes fraternity and sorority life leaders who truly embody and exhibit the values of the fraternity and sorority life community at Rollins, striving for excellence in their leadership and personal dedication to their values

  • Joseph S. Kotlarz III
  • Audrey Ann Shores

Community Service and Engagement

Recognizes a student who has displayed exemplary leadership and dedication to community engagement during their time at Rollins

  • Stella Morris

Peer Educator of the Year

Recognizes a student who is known for modeling positive behavior and enhancing learning opportunities for their peers in direct ways

  • Julia Molina Malagoni

Award for Collective Leadership

Recognizes an organization or team that has had significant impact on Rollins and/or the greater community

  • Student Interfaith Council

Unsung Heroes of the Year

Recognizes students who exemplifies silent leadership and whose work has had a significant impact on the Rollins community

  • Chukwuebuka Iloghalu
  • Najyae Paris Joshawn White

Brendan O’Sullivan Awards

Recognizes graduating seniors with the highest GPA who also studied abroad during their time at Rollins

  • Madison Goeser
  • Coco Marshall

Presidential Awards for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, & Belonging

Recognizes students whose contributions and actions over time demonstrated commitment to promoting diversity awareness, representation, equity, and inclusion within the Rollins community

  • Alise Fortune
  • Fatima Abdullahi Sani

N. Ronald Pease Service to Campus Award

Each year members of the graduating class select one graduating senior who has made the most significant contribution in service to Rollins to receive the N. Ronald Pease Service to Campus Award.

  • Fatima Abdullahi Sani

Read More

July 15, 2024

Rollins College Computer Science Professor Discusses AI and the Future of Work

Daniel Myers, an associate professor of computer science at Rollins College, provides expertise on how AI is changing the nature of work.

July 08, 2024

Gunter’s Book on Climate Change Receives Multiple Awards

Political science professor Mike Gunter’s book Climate Travels recently won awards from Foreword magazine and the American Library Association.

July 03, 2024

Rollins Welcomes Dean Lauren Smith

The interviewed Lauren Smith, the new Dean for the Hamilton Holt School about her experience with adult education.