Rollins Announces 2022 Student Achievement Award Winners

April 27, 2022

By Office of Marketing

Rollins recognizes standout students for their academic achievements and positive contributions to campus and the community at the 2022 Student Achievement Awards Banquet.

Rollins’ annual Student Achievement Awards celebrate this year’s outstanding crop of students who live out the Rollins mission each day.

Fiat Lux Award Winners

Fiat Lux Awards honor outstanding Rollins seniors for their positive contributions to our campus and community in the areas of academics, leadership, inclusion, and service. The award recognizes the most established and honorable leaders on campus.

  • Kim Amaral
  • Jacqueline Bengtson
  • Elizabeth Bonker
  • Hannah Butcher
  • Samijah Butler
  • Gaby Carratala
  • Cristalle Choi
  • Emily Curran
  • Sofia Francisco
  • Camila Fuentes-Bustamente
  • Cameron Gagne
  • Karen Gutensohn
  • Anecia Inbornone
  • Marlee Johnson
  • Dalal Kabbani
  • Zachary Mendez
  • Madhavi Mooljee
  • Zoe Pearson
  • Monica Saad
  • Yoke Tassent

Academic Awards

Each year, the six academic divisions come together to select one recipient who best espouses the values of the College’s mission and the academic rigor required for success.

Business Nicholas Parros
Expressive Arts
Mariah Haskell
Hannah Butcher
Science and Mathematics
Evangelina Wong
Social Sciences
Applied Olivia Elizalde
Social Sciences
Emily Curran
Interdisciplinary Majors
Elizabeth Bonker

SGA Member of the Year

Recognizes the Student Government Association member who made the biggest impact during the academic year

  • Somar Ramos

Emerging Leader of the Year

Recognizes a student who has just begun their leadership journey at Rollins and continues to show promise and strong potential

  • Bal Acharaya

Student Leaders of the Year

Recognizes a student leader who has demonstrated the highest level of leadership and a strong and lasting impact in multiple areas of campus

  • Alexis Matton
  • Akheem Mitchell

Global Ambassador of the Year

Recognizes a student who brings international experience and perspective to Rollins through their passion for global citizenship

  • Capri Gutierrez

Student Employee of the Year

Recognizes students who have demonstrated excellence in their on-campus position by completing outstanding work in the following areas: reliability, quality of work, initiative, professionalism, and uniqueness of contribution

  • Charlotte Kelly

Fraternity and Sorority Life Leader of the Year

Recognizes a fraternity and sorority life leader who truly embodies and exhibits the values of the fraternity and sorority life community at Rollins, striving for excellence in their leadership and personal dedication to their values

  • Jacob Jones
  • Charlotte Palumbo

Community Service and Engagement

Recognizes a student who has displayed exemplary leadership and dedication to community engagement during their time at Rollins

  • Tiara Ashurst

Peer Educator of the Year

Recognizes a student who is known for modeling positive behavior and enhancing learning opportunities for their peers in direct ways

  • Dar Bejerano

Award for Collective Leadership

Recognizes an organization or team that has had significant impact on Rollins and/or the greater community

  • Student Support Foundation (SSF)

Unsung Heroes of the Year

Recognizes students who exemplifies silent leadership and whose work has had a significant impact on the Rollins community.

  • Sugeilee Martinez Mercedes
  • One student who wishes to remain anonymous

Anchor Award

This award is given under special circumstances at the discretion of the selection committee to recognize an exceptional campus leader.

  • Sendy Sejourne

Brendan O’Sullivan Award

Recognizes graduating seniors with the highest GPA who also studied abroad during their time at Rollins

  • Evangelina Wong

N. Ronald Pease Service to Campus Award

Each year, members of the graduating class select one graduating senior who has made the most significant contribution in service to Rollins to receive the N. Ronald Pease Service to Campus Award.

  • Carley Matthews

Hugh F. Mckean Award

Each year, members of the graduating class select one faculty member to recognize for outstanding teaching award

  • Josephine Balzac, social entrepreneurship professor

Read More

May 19, 2022

New Certificate in Racial Reconciliation and Community Restoration

Eric Smaw, a professor of philosophy, discusses this innovative certificate program created to empower those seeking to make a difference in addressing racial inequality.

May 18, 2022

Bailey Clark is a 40 Under 40 Honoree

Clark, an associate director for the Center for Leadership and Community Engagement, discusses why she is inspired by Mr. Rogers.

May 18, 2022

Rollins Recognized as a Top College for Transfer Students

Phi Theta Kappa once again selects Rollins as a leader in transfer-student development and success.