Rollins Announces 2020 Student Achievement Award Winners

April 28, 2020

By Audrey St. Clair ’03

The College recognized 35 students for their academic achievements and positive contributions to campus and the community at the 2020 virtual Student Achievement Awards Banquet.

The Student Achievement Awards Banquet looks a little different this year, so get comfy, grab the popcorn, and watch our virtual celebration of this year’s outstanding crop of students who live out the Rollins mission each day.

Fiat Lux Award Winners

Fiat Lux Awards honor outstanding Rollins seniors for their positive contributions to our campus and community in the areas of academics, leadership, inclusion, and service. The award recognizes the most established and honorable leaders on campus.

  • Joshua Adlam
  • Annie Baumm
  • Hallie Brody
  • Carla Daza
  • Isaac James
  • Muniba M. Khan
  • Grace Marshall
  • Silvana Montañola
  • Arianna Montrose
  • Italia Rico
  • Caitlin Robison
  • Tianna-Marie Rosser
  • Brock Simmons-Barfield
  • Bet Tauscher
  • Sunny Toreihi
  • Evelyn Villarreal
  • Matthew Weiner

Academic Awards

Each year, the six academic divisions come together to select one recipient who best espouses the values of the College’s mission and the academic rigor required for success.

Business Susanne Reeg
Expressive Arts Morgan Snoap
Humanities Gabriela Seguesse Freitas
Science and Mathematics Jack Gabriel
Social Sciences Applied Alexis Collins
Social Sciences Grace Marshall
Interdisciplinary Majors Kenzie Helmick and Josh Willard

SGA Member of the Year

Recognizes the Student Government Association member who made the biggest impact during the academic year

  • Daniel Elliot

Emerging Leader of the Year

Recognizes a student who has just begun their leadership journey at Rollins and continues to show promise and strong potential

  • Akheem Mitchell

Student Leader of the Year

Recognizes a student leader who has demonstrated the highest level of leadership and a strong and lasting impact in multiple areas of campus

  • Megan Fernandez

Global Ambassador of the Year

Recognizes a student who brings international experience and perspective to Rollins through their passion for global citizenship

  • Frances Turk

Student Employee of the Year

Recognizes a student who has demonstrated excellence in their on-campus position by completing outstanding work in the following areas: reliability, quality of work, initiative, professionalism, and uniqueness of contribution

  • Renee Sang

Fraternity and Sorority Life Leaders of the Year

Recognizes fraternity and sorority life leaders who truly embody and exhibit the values of the fraternity and sorority life community at Rollins, striving for excellence in their leadership and personal dedication to their values

  • Christianna Gess
  • Eric NeCamp

Community Service and Engagement

Recognizes a student who has displayed exemplary leadership and dedication to community engagement during their time at Rollins

  • Alli Lessne

Peer Educator of the Year

Recognizes a student who is known for modeling positive behavior and enhancing learning opportunities for their peers in direct ways

  • Alex Arbit

Award for Collective Leadership

Recognizes an organization or team that has had significant impact on Rollins and/or the greater community

  • Association for Computing Machinery

Unsung Hero of the Year

Recognizes students who exemplifies silent leadership and whose work has had a significant impact on the Rollins community

  • Ben Katz
  • Nicole Solomon

Brendan O’Sullivan Award

Recognizes graduating seniors with the highest GPA who also studied abroad during their time at Rollins

  • Kenzie Helmick
  • Morgan Snoap

N. Ronald Pease Service to Campus Award

Each year members of the graduating class select one graduating senior who has made the most significant contribution in service to Rollins to receive the N. Ronald Pease Service to Campus Award.

  • Sunny Toreihi

Read More

May 19, 2022

New Certificate in Racial Reconciliation and Community Restoration

Eric Smaw, a professor of philosophy, discusses this innovative certificate program created to empower those seeking to make a difference in addressing racial inequality.

May 18, 2022

Bailey Clark is a 40 Under 40 Honoree

Clark, an associate director for the Center for Leadership and Community Engagement, discusses why she is inspired by Mr. Rogers.

May 18, 2022

Rollins Recognized as a Top College for Transfer Students

Phi Theta Kappa once again selects Rollins as a leader in transfer-student development and success.