Dean of The Faculty

The Office of the Dean of the Faculty Mission Statement

The Office of the Dean of Faculty is committed to supporting the faculty in their stewardship of the academic mission of Rollins College.

To that end, the Office of the Dean of Faculty values and provides support for:

  • thoughtful, generous, student-focused faculty who balance academic rigor with concern for student learning;
  • creative and innovative pedagogies;
  • research and inquiry that contributes to student learning; and
  • inclusive practices that respect and value students, faculty, and staff for who they are in order that they feel supported to do their best work.

 

 

Future of Physics

 

Fall Faculty Retreat Agenda

Faculty Retreat Agenda - August 20, 2019 at The Alfond Inn, Winter Park, FL 32789

 Morning                                                                      

8:30 am

Breakfast

 

New Faculty Introductions

 

President’s address

10:00 – 10:15 a.m.

Break

 

Associate Dean of Advising, Gabriel Barreneche and Nancy Chick, Director of Endeavor Center

 

Provost’s address

 

Associate Dean of Academics, Emily Russell

12:00 – 1:00 p.m.

Lunch – in main room/ Rob Sanders, Dean of Holt in breakout room

Afternoon

1:00 – 2:30 

Faculty Meeting

2:30 – 3:30

New faculty meet with Sarah Laake, Director Title lX and Ken Miller, Assistant Vice President, Public Safety – Cleary/Title lX

 

                                                                       

Meet the Deans

Learn more about Dean of The Faculty Jennifer Cavenaugh and Associate Deans Gabriel Barreneche, Emily Russell, and Meribeth Huebner.

Meet the Deans

Faculty Resources

From academic appeals to promotion and tenure information, these resources will help you easily manage the minutiae, so you can get back to what you do best: shaping the lives of Rollins students.

Faculty Resources

New Faculty Information

For new faculty resources, including orientation schedule, check out the Endeavor Center for Faculty Development, click here

 

Meet the Deans

 The Academic Deans and our staff…

  • Administer a 21st-century pragmatic liberal arts curriculum
  • Support the scholarly activity of both faculty and students
  • Direct the recruitment and development of talented faculty members
  • Enhance our faculty academic advising program
  • Foment a culture of honor and integrity through our Academic Honor Code

Dean of The Faculty
Jennifer Jones Cavenaugh
Meet the Dean

Associate Dean of Advising
Gabriel Ignacio Barreneche
Meet the Dean

Associate Dean of Curriculum
Emily Russell
Meet the Associate Dean

Department Chairs

2019-2020 Chairs' Calendar
AUGUST  
8.18-23 New Faculty Orientation
8.19-19 All Faculty Welcome Dinner - Alfond Gym
8.20.19 All Faculty Retreat - Alfond Inn 8:30 - 3:00 p.m.
8.20-24 Welcome New Faculty - arrange with Admin for keys, supplies, etc.
8.21.19 New chairs orientation
8.22.19 Freshman Advising Urgent Care - Olin Library
8.24.19 SPARC Day
8.26.19 First Day of Classes
8.26-30 Add/Drop: be available to sign forms and assist with registration issues
8.26.19 Attend Convocation and encourage department faculty to attend
8.26.19 Intent to Travel forms due to Karla Knight
8.27.19 State of the College Open Forum, 12:30 - 1:50, Bush Auditorium
8.28.19 Online scheduling system opens to departments
8.30.19 Review new faculty syllabi
8.31.19 Requests for Visitor searches based on an unexpected faculty departure over the summer are due to the Dean of CLA
8.31.19 FSARS due at midnight
8.31.19 Syllabi due to Administrative Assistants who send it to Janette Smith
SEPTEMBER  
9.2.19 LABOR DAY
9.6.19 Last day to drop without "W" notation
9.15.19 Budget Increases due
9.15.19 Submit Demonstration of Learning (DoL) plan for the year
9.15.19 Scheduling materials due to the Registrar's Office from departments for Spring 2020
9.17.19 Department Chairs Meeting
9.19.19 Faculty Meeting
9.20.19 Deadline for department chair/coordinator stipend PAFs
9.25.19 Law School Fair 4:00 - 6:00 Rice Pavilion
9.30.19 Faculty Position Requests for 2021-2022 due to the Dean's Office
OCTOBER  
10.1.19 CEC submits letter to Candidate, Dean, and FEC Chair for tenure and promotion to associate cases
10.1.19 Electronic schedule proof available, link sent to departments
10.8.19 Department Chairs Meeting 
10.10.19 R-Compass Fair
10.12-15 FALL TERM BREAK
10.15.19 CEC submits letter to Candidate, Dean, and FEC Chair for tenure and promotion to full cases
10.15.19 Final proofs due back from Departments
10.22.19 All schedule edits completed
10.24.19 Faculty Meeting
10.28.19 Academic and Career Planning Period
NOVEMBER  
11.1-3 Family Weekend
11.1.19 CEC submits letter to Candidate, Dean, and FEC Chair for promotion to full cases
11.4-17 Student on-line registration for Spring
11.8.19 Last day to withdraw from class with "W" transcript notation
11.12.19 Department Chairs Meeting
11.21.19 Faculty Meeting
11.27-12.1 THANKSGIVING BREAK
DECEMBER  
12.1.19 New Course Proposals/Gen Ed Approvals due to Registrar
12.6.19 Credit/No Credit Deadline
12.6.19 Classes end
7-8 and 11 Reading Days
12.10.19 Department Chairs Meeting
9-10, 12-13 Finals
12.11.19 Faculty Meeting
12.16-20 Contingency Days
12.17.19 Fall term grades due to the Registrar's Office by Noon
23-Jan 1 Closure & Holidays
JANUARY  
6-10 Intersession classes meet
1.13.20 Faculty Day of Scholarship
1.13.20 First Day of Classes for Holt
1.14.20 First Day of Classes for CLA
1.14.20 Intersession grades due to the Registrar's Office Noon.  
1.14-21 Add/Drop
1.16.20 Online course scheduling opened to Departments
1.20.20 M.L. KING JR. DAY HOLIDAY
1.21.20 Submit RCC, Honors, and rFLA course information to the Associate Dean of Academics
1.21.20 Syllabi due from Admins
1.21.20 Department Chairs/Coordinators' Meeting
1.23.20 Faculty Meeting
1.28.20 Credit/No Credit Deadline; Last day to drop without "W" notation
1.30.20 Changes to major/minor maps due to the Registrar's Office
FEBRUARY  
2.11.20 Dept. Chairs Meeting
2.15.20 CEC submits letter to Candidate, Dean, and FEC Chair for Midcourse Evaluation. 
2.15.20 Annual Evaluation letters for tenure-track faculty are also due to the Dean’s Office.
2.20.20 Faculty Meeting
2.26-28 Board of Trustees Meeting
MARCH  
3.1.20 Final proofs due back to Records from all Departments
3.10.20 Chairs' Meeting
3.12.20 Faculty Meeting
3.14-22 SPRING BREAK
3.17.20 Dept. Chairs Meeting
3.23.20 All schedule changes due
3.23-4. 3 Academic and Career Planning Period
3.30.20 Student On-line registration for Fall and Maymester
APRIL  
4.1-15 Registration demand adjustment (ongoing)
4.2.20 Faculty Meeting
4.3.20 Last day to drop a class without penalty ("W" Deadline)
4.14.20 Dept. Chairs Meeting
4.15.20 Department Chair election results due
4.16.20 Faculty Meeting
4.28.20 Classes end
4.29,5. 2-3 Reading Days
4.30-5.1,
4-5
Final Exams
MAY  
5.6.20 Senior grades due to the Registrar's Office by Noon
5.6-8 Board of Trustees Meeting
5.9.20 HOLT COMMENCEMENT
5.10.20 CLA COMMENCEMENT
5.11.20 Maymester Begins
5.12.20 All remaining spring grades due to the Registrar's Office by Noon
5.12.20 Post Board of Trustees Forum, Bush Auditorium 12:30 - 2:00
5.25.20 MEMORIAL DAY
JUNE  
6.1.20 Notify Dean, Candidate, and FEC of CEC make-up for any Midcourse, Tenure, or Promotion cases for the next academic year.
6.8.20 Maymester Grades Due
6.15.20 Submit Demonstration of Learning (DoL) Report for the year.
6.30.20 Staff evaluation deadline using Reviewsnap
JULY  
7.1.20 Deadline for tenure and promotion candidates to upload materials to Canvas

 

2019-2020 ACADEMIC DEPARTMENT CHAIRS and PROGRAM ADMINISTRATORS
PRESIDENT OF THE FACULTY   DEPT EXT E-MAIL BOX # ADMIN ASSISTANT
  Paul Reich 2666 preich@rollins.edu 2766 Jessica McKown
ACADEMIC DEPARTMENT CHAIRS:        
DEPARTMENT CHAIR DEPT EXT E-MAIL BOX # ADMIN ASSISTANT
Anthropology Ashley Kistler 2670 skistler@rollins.edu 2761 Flora van Breemen
Art and Art History, Chair Dawn Roe 2498 droe@rollins.edu 2774 Lucia Davison
Art and Art History, Co-Chair Susan Libby 2498 slibby@rollins.edu 2774 Lucia Davison
Biology Paul Stephenson 2494 pstephenson@rollins.edu 2743 Gail Jones
Business Timothy Pett 1591 tpett@rollins.edu 2778 Karen Crain
Chemistry Kasandra Riley 2223 kriley@rollins.edu 2743 Pam Mason
Communication Gregory Cavenaugh 2337 gcavenaugh@rollins.edu 2723 Renita Culpepper
Critical Media and Cultural Studies Denise Cummings 1587 dcummings@rollins.edu 2777 Renita Culpepper
Economics Anca Voicu 2569 avoicu@rollins.edu 2751 Kimberly Petersen
Education Debra Wellman 2242 dwellman@rollins.edu 2726 Cathy Fuller
English Vidhu Aggarwal 2666 vaggarwal@rollins.edu 2766 Jessica McKown
Environmental Studies Lee Lines 2392 llines@rollins.edu 2753 Ann Francis
Graduate Studies in Counseling Samuel Sanabria 1708 ssanabria@rollins.edu 2726 Stephanie Davis
Health Professions Nancy Niles 2232 nniles@rollins.edu 2791 Sarah Hughes
History  Claire Strom 2158 cstrom@rollins.edu 2762 Alison Reeve
Mathematics/Computer Science, Chair Zeynep Teymuroglu 2432 zteymuroglu@rollins.edu 2743 Donata-Marie Nutter
Mathematics/Computer Science, Co-Chair Daniel Myers 2432 dmyers@rollins.edu 2743 Donata-Marie Nutter
Modern Languages and Literatures Patricia Tome 2623 ptome@rollins.edu 2752 Ruth Jackson
Music John Sinclair 2233 jsinclair@rollins.edu 2731 Susan Throm/Sherry Orr
Philosophy and Religion Scott Rubarth 2139 srubarth@rollins.edu 2773 Dawn Ames
Physics Anne Murdaugh 2223 amurdaugh@rollins.edu 2743 Pam Mason
Political Science Dexter Boniface 2158 dboniface@rollins.edu 2762 Alison Reeve
Psychology Alice Davidson 2227 adavidson@rollins.edu 2760 Vicki Long
Social Entrepreneurship Tonia Warnecke 1285 twarnecke@rollins.edu 2779 Kimberly Petersen
Sociology Amy Armenia 2670 aarmenia@rollins.edu 2761 Flora van Breemen
Theatre Arts and Dance Kevin Griffin 2501 kgriffin@rollins.edu 2735 Alexandria Feliciano

Canvas Foundations Course

Canvas Foundations Course (login required) for those teaching in the general education curriculum.

Office of the Dean of the Faculty
Rollins College
Warren Building
1000 Holt Avenue – 2749
Winter Park, Florida 32789
T. 407.646.2280; 407-646-2175