Section Menu

Dean of The Faculty

The Office of the Dean of the Faculty Mission Statement

The Office of the Dean of Faculty is committed to supporting the faculty in their stewardship of the academic mission of Rollins College.

To that end, the Office of the Dean of Faculty values and provides support for:

  • thoughtful, generous, student-focused faculty who balance academic rigor with concern for student learning;
  • creative and innovative pedagogies;
  • research and inquiry that contributes to student learning; and
  • inclusive practices that respect and value students, faculty, and staff for who they are in order that they feel supported to do their best work.

Meet the Deans

 The Academic Deans and our staff…

  • Administer a 21st-century pragmatic liberal arts curriculum
  • Support the scholarly activity of both faculty and students
  • Direct the recruitment and development of talented faculty members
  • Enhance our faculty academic advising program
  • Foment a culture of honor and integrity through our Academic Honor Code

Dean of The Faculty

Jennifer Jones Cavenaugh

Meet the Dean

Associate Dean of Advising

Gabriel Ignacio Barreneche

Meet the Dean

Associate Dean of Academics

Ashley Kistler

Meet the Associate Dean

Rollins Guide to Virtual Learning

Rollins Guide to Virtual Learning

Rollins faculty and staff have been working around the clock to ensure that we can deliver a Rollins education remotely through combining the latest technologies with evidence-based teaching methods. Here are all the resources available to you as we navigate this transition to distance learning. 

Questions? 

A new email address, care@rollins.edu, has been set up to provide a one-stop source for any questions you may have. Whether it’s an academic need, a student support issue, or a COVID-19-specific question, a Rollins staff member will read your message and respond promptly with assistance.

Joining Class

The best professors in the South will lead real-time classes using WebEx and Canvas Conferences, which are already available for each course during an ordinary semester. Fortunately, you’ve already established face-to-face relationships and connections during the first two months of the semester, so you’ll just be picking up where you left off before spring break, only virtually.

Your academic advisor and professors should have reached out to you in advance of classes resuming with instructions and advice. Most of your faculty will have posted their URLs on your class Canvas site, and many include it in their email signatures. 

You can join class via a computer, smartphone or tablet. For a mobile device, install the Cisco WebEx Meetings app.

When it is time for your virtual class, wherever you are, simply paste your instructor’s URL into your browser and connect. Check the buttons at the bottom, and click on both the microphone to mute it and the video to turn it on. Remember to unmute when you want to join the conversation.

Staying Connected

You can set up your own personal WebEx room, which will allow you to stay connected with each other, set up study groups, work with your fellow students, or simply chat and catch up virtually. To launch your own room, log onto WebEx on your laptop (Links to an external site.) or via the mobile app (Links to an external site.). Next, locate the URL for your personal meeting room, which is located above the “Start Meeting” button. This is the link you will share with others to access the meeting.  

In addition, Rollins is providing all full-time students access to the Adobe Creative Cloud software. Here are the instructions to authorize and install the suite (Links to an external site.).

IT Issues

Should you need assistance with hardware or software as you adjust to new ways of using online tools, contact helpdesk@rollins.edu or call 407-628-6363. A help desk professional will help you individually.

Academic Advising

You’ll still meet one-on-one with your faculty advisor—only now advising appointments will take place via Webex or over the phone rather than in person. Rollins’ Academic Advising website (Links to an external site.) includes comprehensive resources including curricular requirements, planning documents, and co-curricular opportunities.

Registration

The Office of the Registrar has added to its registration page (Links to an external site.) a new FAQ related to Spring 2020 registration here (PDF) (Links to an external site.) for College of Liberal Arts and Holt students.

Before registering for class, you should make an appointment with your faculty advisor to review your academic goals and schedule for the future virtually via WebEx or on the phone. The advisor hold on your registration will not be lifted unless you have consulted with your academic advisor. For assistance, you may call 407-646-2232 or email your advisor (Links to an external site.).

It will also be helpful to familiarize yourself with the course offerings in the Schedule of Classes (Links to an external site.) and to plan ahead of your time ticket opening. DegreeWorks (found in FoxLink (Links to an external site.)) is also an excellent resource to assist you in selecting courses that will progress you toward graduation.

Olin Library

The Olin Library is ready to show the instructional world what it can do remotely.

As we transition to virtual instruction, the majority of Olin’s collections are already online, and the library will be providing online services, including appointments with library faculty in support of your work.

Follow this link (Links to an external site.) to find the catalog search box, research guides, “Your Librarian” pages, the chat widget, and the A-Z list of databases. If you have trouble accessing collections online from off campus, go to this link for help (Links to an external site.). The library’s electronic collections are robust: 96 databases, more than 245,000 books, 113,423 audiovisuals, and nearly 158,000 serials.

Rollins’ librarians are ready to meet via WebEx, phone, and email. Please email your librarian for an appointment. Consult the Follow the Your Librarian pages (Links to an external site.) for a list of the library liaisons per discipline and to find their WebEx URLs. For questions about materials on reserve, please email circ@rollins.edu.

Borrowing materials via Interlibrary Loan will still continue. Make requests as usual through the library’s online catalog.

There is now a link to Olin Library’s key resources in every Canvas course, described as “Olin Library Resources,” and the library offers a subject guide with links to current COVID-19 information (Links to an external site.)

Olin is open during regular posted hours to all members of the Rollins community who have a valid R-Card. 

Tutoring & Writing Center

These services will be moving to all-virtual, synchronous tutoring this week. The new Virtual Tutoring page (Links to an external site.) offers more information, and our tutors are excited to start meeting with students via WebEx.

Rollins College Wellness Center

If you have health-care questions or need prescriptions refilled, in-state students will find health services open and available weekdays via telehealth consultations, from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. EST. Please call 407-628-6340 to schedule, or email wellness@rollins.edu.

The Wellness Center, including Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS), has been reaching out to all current clients to create a phone or online consultation that helps connect them with appropriate resources and create an alternative care plan. The Wellness Center is exploring how individual or group therapy could become available remotely.

Students continue to have access to Well Track, an online interactive self-help therapy suite of online tools and courses that uses aspects of Cognitive Behavior Therapy to help students identify, understand, and address issues they are having. The Wellness Center is also working to develop an online workshop or video that students will be able to access in addition to other self-help apps.

Helpful tips and information are consistently pushed out through our Wellness Center Instagram account (Links to an external site.). The center is working to develop a series of online workshops and videos to serve as helpful resources for our campus community. 

Center for Career & Life Planning

From one-on-one advising appointments and resume help to connecting with prospective employers and virtual events, you’ll be able to access all of CCLP’s services and resources remotely. Review this FAQ page (Links to an external site.) for the full suite of information.  

Accessibility Services

Even though the mode of learning may be changing, students’ academic accommodations are still in effect. The Accessibility Services team reached out to students and faculty on March 13 about specific accommodations, and they’re ready to assist with the transition to virtual, synchronous learning. The Office of Accessibility Services is available Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at access@rollins.edu or by phone at 407-975-6463.

Student Account Services

Student Account Services remains committed to supporting students. Please reach out to our office if you need assistance with understanding your payment options at sas@rollins.edu (Links to an external site.) or 407-646-2252.

Emergency Campus Resources

It goes without saying that the safety and health of all members of the Rollins community is of paramount concern. Rollins’ COVID-19 Response Team continues to meet daily and update Rollins’ Emergency Management (Links to an external site.) page regularly with current news, FAQs, external resources, and emergency plans and procedures for the campus community. The emergency site features this section for students (Links to an external site.).

A limited number of staff providing critical, in-person support roles continue to work on campus, including to help make housing and meals available to a small group of students.

Social Media

It’s important to come together in virtual spaces beyond the classroom. Impromptu social media groups, hashtags, and chat rooms will be important as we connect with each other during this time of virtual learning. Check out Rollins’ Instagram for info and updates.

 

Department Chairs

2019-2020 ACADEMIC DEPARTMENT CHAIRS and PROGRAM ADMINISTRATORS
PRESIDENT OF THE FACULTY   DEPT EXT E-MAIL BOX # ADMIN ASSISTANT
  Paul Reich 2666 preich@rollins.edu 2766 Jessica McKown
ACADEMIC DEPARTMENT CHAIRS:        
DEPARTMENT CHAIR DEPT EXT E-MAIL BOX # ADMIN ASSISTANT
Anthropology Rachel Newcomb 2670 rnewcomb@rollins.edu  2761 Flora van Breemen
Art and Art History, Chair Dawn Roe 2498 droe@rollins.edu 2774 Rachel Schleub
Art and Art History, Co-Chair Susan Libby 2498 slibby@rollins.edu 2774 Rachel Schleub 
Biology Bobby Fokidis 2494 bfokidis@rollins.edu 2743 Donata-Marie Nutter
Business Timothy Pett 1591 tpett@rollins.edu 2778 Karen Crain
Chemistry Kasandra Riley 2223 kriley@rollins.edu 2743 Pam Mason
Communication Hesham Mesbah 2337 hmesbah@rollins.edu  2723 Renita Culpepper
Critical Media and Cultural Studies Denise Cummings 1587 dcummings@rollins.edu 2777 Renita Culpepper
Economics Anca Voicu 2569 avoicu@rollins.edu 2751 Tania Micalizio
Education Debra Wellman 2242 dwellman@rollins.edu 2726 Cathy Fuller
English Vidhu Aggarwal 2666 vaggarwal@rollins.edu 2766 Jessica McKown
Environmental Studies Lee Lines 2392 llines@rollins.edu 2753 Ann Francis
Graduate Studies in Counseling Samuel Sanabria 1708 ssanabria@rollins.edu 2726 Stephanie Davis
Health Professions Nancy Niles 2232 nniles@rollins.edu 2791 Sarah Hughes
History  Claire Strom 2158 cstrom@rollins.edu 2762 Alison Reeve
Mathematics/Computer Science, Chair Zeynep Teymuroglu 2432 zteymuroglu@rollins.edu 2743 Donata-Marie Nutter
Mathematics/Computer Science, Co-Chair Daniel Myers 2432 dmyers@rollins.edu 2743 Donata-Marie Nutter
Global Cultures and Literatures Patricia Tome 2623 ptome@rollins.edu 2752 Ruth Jackson
Music John Sinclair 2233 jsinclair@rollins.edu  2731 Susan Throm/Sherry Orr
Philosophy and Religion Scott Rubarth 2139 srubarth@rollins.edu 2773 Dawn Ames
Physics Anne Murdaugh 2223 amurdaugh@rollins.edu 2743 Pam Mason
Political Science Dexter Boniface 2158 dboniface@rollins.edu 2762 Alison Reeve
Psychology Alice Davidson 2227 adavidson@rollins.edu 2760 Vicki Long
Social Entrepreneurship Tonia Warnecke 1285 twarnecke@rollins.edu 2779 Kimberly Eiland
Sociology Amy Armenia 2670 aarmenia@rollins.edu  2761 Flora van Breemen
Theatre Arts and Dance Kevin Griffin 2501 kgriffin@rollins.edu 2735 Alexandria Feliciano

Canvas Foundations Course

Canvas Foundations Course (login required) for those teaching in the general education curriculum.

Section Menu

Back to top

Office of the Dean of the Faculty
Rollins College
Warren Building
1000 Holt Avenue – 2749
Winter Park, Florida 32789
T. 407.646.2280; 407-646-2175