Winter With the Writers

Jay Hopler

Author of Green Squall and The Abridged History of Rainfall. 2016 National Book Award finalist.


Jay Hopler and Chris Bachelder: Joint Reading, On-stage Interview, and Signing

Speaker Video

Event Details

Thanks to a new partnership with the National Book Foundation (NBF), Winter With the Writers will host 2016 National Book Award Finalist Jay Hopler on February 22-23, 2017.

Rollins College Partners with the National Book Awards

Video: 2016 National Book Award Finalist Reading

Event Preview

Iman Gareeboo previews Hopler's visit.
Read preview

Event Recap

Alexandra Holt recaps Hopler's visit.
Read preview

February 22, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.

Winter With the Writers and Functionally Literate present
Lisa Lucas, Executive Director of the National Book Foundation
A Well-Read Nation: Literature and Community

Lowndes Shakespeare Theater: 812 E. Rollins Street Orlando, Florida 32803

Lisa Lucas is the Executive Director of the National Book Foundation. Prior to joining the Foundation, she served as the publisher of Guernica, a non-profit online magazine focusing on writing that explores the intersection of art and politics with an international and diverse focus. She has also served as Director of Education at the Tribeca Film Institute, on the development team at Steppenwold Theatre Company, and as a consultant for the Sundance Institute, San Francisco Film Society, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, and ReelWorks Teen Filmmaking. Lucas also serves on the literary council of the Brooklyn Book Festival. Find her on Twitter at @likaluca.

February 23, 2017 at 2:00 p.m.

Jay Hopler: Master Class
SunTrust Auditorium

February 23, 2017 at 7:30 p.m.

Jay Hopler and Chris Bachelder: Joint Reading, On-stage Interview, and Signing
Bush Auditorium


Speaker Bio

Current as of
Jay Hopler is the author of Green Squall and the editor (with Kimberly Johnson) of Before the Door of God: An Anthology of Devotional Poetry. The recipient of, among other awards and prizes, the Yale Series of Younger Poet Award, the Great Lake Colleges Association New Writers Award, a fellowship from the Lannan Foundation, the Whiting Writers' Award, and the Rome Prize in Literature, he teaches in the writing program at the University of South Florida. The Abridged History of Rainfall, published in 2016 (McSweeney's), is described by the National Book Awards Poetry Committee as "an elegy of uproar, a careening hymn to disaster and it's aftermath" for a father.