Photo by David Woods

Commencement 2011

Cornell Distinguished Awards

Established by the Board of Trustees of Rollins College in 2004, the Cornell Distinguished Awards honor George D. ’35 ’85H and Harriet W. Cornell ’35HAL ’90H, whose generosity made the award possible. The awards recognize faculty members for outstanding teaching, research, and/or service, and provide each recipient with a stipend.

Distinguished Faculty
Joan Davison
Professor of Political Science

Distinguished Service
Scott Hewit
Associate Professor of Education

Distinguished Teaching
Jill Jones
Associate Professor of English

President’s Award for Diversity and Inclusion

The President’s Award for Diversity and Inclusion was established in 2009 as a means of recognizing and honoring students, faculty, and staff for their efforts aimed at promoting diversity awareness, representation, and inclusion within the Rollins workplace and student community. The award is granted annually to a student, faculty, and staff member whose contributions and actions over time best exemplify the principles and ideals of diversity and inclusion.

Faculty Recipient
Margaret McLaren
George D. and Harriet W. Cornell Professor of Philosophy

Student Recipient
Meghan Thomas ’11

Staff Recipient
Robert Whetstone
Senior shift supervisor for campus safety and security

Arthur Vining Davis Fellows

Rollins annually recognizes three faculty members as Arthur Vining Davis Fellows. Students and faculty nominate candidates who demonstrate outstanding teaching and advising, scholarly work and publications, completion of significant research projects, accomplishments in the fine arts, or important contributions to the cultural, economic, and social community of Central Florida.

Anna Alon
Assistant Professor of International Business

Gabriel Barreneche
Assistant Professor of Spanish

Joseph Siry
Associate Professor of Environmental Studies

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Medallion

Established in 1927, the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Medallion is the highest non-academic award the College bestows to an Arts & Sciences student who shows remarkable character and integrity and who demonstrates a commitment to service to others.

Omar Rachid ’11

General Charles McCormick Reeve Awards

The General Charles McCormick Reeve Awards are given to the top five students in the graduating class.

David Celis ’11
Jonathon Norcross ’11
Ariane Rosen ’11
Whitney Smith ’11
Anthony Wehrer ’11

Honorary Doctorates of Humane Letters

Edward James Olmos
Actor, producer, director, and community activist

Eduardo Padrón
President of Miami Dade College

“Keep listening and keep learning. Don’t be an easy partisan. Don’t be a soft touch for the labels of separation. Never take the beauty and wonder of this life for granted. Never give up. Never, ever stop learning.”
College Commencement Speaker Eduardo Padrón

“Each of you will find your own special ways to serve your communities and society. We are confident that you will represent your alma mater well, following successfully in the footsteps of those before you and discovering new trails for those who follow. We look forward to your future achievements and to your continued bond with Rollins.”
President Lewis Duncan to the Class of 2011