Johnston to Succeed Keen on Rollins Board of Trustees

May 10, 2019

By Office of Marketing

Rollins College Board of Trustee Susan Whealler Johnston ’75
Photo by Scott Cook.

Susan Whealler Johnston ’75 will succeed Allan E. Keen ’70 ’71MBA as chairman of Rollins’ board of trustees.

Friday, May 10, marked the conclusion of Allan E. Keen ’70 ’71MBA ’10H’s tenure as chairman of Rollins’ board of trustees. Keen was elected to the board in 1989, serving as chairman from 2006 to 2008 and 2016 to 2019. He is the chairman and founder of The Keewin Real Property Company in Winter Park and will remain on the Rollins board.

Susan Whealler Johnston ’75, chair-elect, will succeed Keen. She is president and the first-ever woman CEO of the National Association of College and University Business Officers (NACUBO) and has been a member of Rollins’ board of trustees since 2009.

Johnston also serves on the board of visitors of Radford University and the advisory committee of the National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE). In addition, she has served on a variety of board committees and has chaired committees on governance and academic affairs.

Johnston studied English literature at Rollins before receiving a master’s and PhD in the subject from Purdue University.

“We express our overwhelming gratitude to Allan for all his continual service to Rollins College over the years, and we welcome Susan as Rollins’ next chair of the board of trustees,” says Rollins President Grant Cornwell. “We expect the transition between Allan and Susan to be seamless, as they are both dedicated to the mission and vision of educating Rollins students for global citizenship and responsible leadership.”