Saabira Mohamed Named SunTrust 2015 Distinguished Leader of Merit

Apr. 22, 2015 - The Rollins College Crummer Graduate School of Business today announced that full-time MBA student Saabira Mohamed has been named this year's SunTrust Distinguished Leader of Merit. David E. Fuller, President of SunTrust Bank, Central Florida, presented Mohamed with the award. Mohamed will be recognized again for her achievement at the Crummer commencement ceremony on May 2, 2015. In addition to Mohamed, Crummer students Christopher Anderson and Ryan Stoffer were named SunTrust Leaders of Merit.

Supported by the generosity of SunTrust Foundation, the Distinguished Leader of Merit award is considered to be among the most prestigious awards given by the Rollins College Crummer Graduate School of Business. It is given each year to a second-year MBA student active in the Center for Leadership Development who exemplifies and practices ethical, responsible and thoughtful leadership both at school and in the community.

“The SunTrust Distinguished Leader of Merit award honors students who show exceptional leadership development and commitment as they prepare for leadership roles in their future careers,” said Susan A. Bach, director of the Rollins MBA Center for Leadership Development. “Saabira has demonstrated commitment and leadership in the classroom and at Goodwill Industries, where she helped develop a merit-based program for employee benefits, reinforcing that the skills learned at Crummer are instrumental in the workplace and all aspects of life.”

The criteria for the award are behavioral assessments, participating in leadership programs and coaching, course completion in leadership, and community service. Students who meet the award requirements develop a leadership portfolio that includes a detailed development plan and future leadership objectives, written reflections of demonstrated leadership, references, and a resume. Entrants are judged by a panel of local Orlando business leaders who serve on the Leadership Center’s Business Advisory Board.

This year’s selection panel included: Bridgit Parchment, Vice President, Business Banking Relationship Manager SunTrust Bank; Reinaldo Llano, Director, Corporate Community Relations Bright House Networks; Barbara Hartley, Executive Director at Downtown Orlando Arts District; Robert Schwetje, (ret) Pfizer; and Michael Hawkins, Quality Management, Siemens Energy and 2014 SunTrust Distinguished Leader of Merit.


AireHealth Wins $25,000 Prize at the 2019 Crummer Rollins Venture Plan Competition

Read More

Marketing Experts Discuss Intersection of Brand and Experience in the Digital Age

Read More

Crummer Alumna Leverages Social Entrepreneurship Class to Secure Major Grant for Bach Festival Society

Read More