Talented Students

Winning Rollins team from CME Challenge

For the fourth year in a row, Rollins students traveled to Boston to participate in the four-day Harvard National Model United Nations Conference (HNMUN). This year’s group, comprised of 11 students, spanned all four class years and represented a wide range of majors, including international relations, French and economics.

Tonia Warnecke & Andrew Padgett

Senior economics major Andrew Padgett (Class of 2011) and Assistant Professor of Economics Tonia Warnecke presented their joint research "Diamonds in the Rubble: The Women of Haiti--The Importance of Gender Equitable Policies & Practices for Haiti’s Recovery"at an international conference in Coimbra, Portugal.

INB student-CME competition

For a remarkable third time in five years, a Rollins international business student team has finished in the Top 10 of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange Commodities Trading Challenge Competition. The undergraduate team placed an impressive ninth out of the 113 teams competing from top college and universities from around the globe. In March 2010, the Rollins team achieved a significant two-week return of 47.5 percent (on their investment) during the first round of the challenge.
Click here to learn more

Cornell Scholars

The Cornell Scholars program was launched in 2005-06. Cornell Scholars are asked to become campus leaders, achieve academic excellence, and help raise the scholarly expectations and achievement among the student body.

Student musicians

Rollins Students Recognized for Excellence

In spring 2012, five Rollins students and one alumna were awarded Fulbright English Teaching Assistantships. Traveling to six countries on three continents, Shayla Alamino ’12, Aislinn Betancourt ’12, Kory Eylmann ’12, Jane Lombardi ’11, Nic Ramos-Flores ’12, and Ian Wallace ’12 will spend time in host countries teaching English as a foreign language and fostering mutual understanding between people of the United States and other countries.

During 2010-11, Hamilton Holt student Kari Smith '12 was chosen as one of 130 students from across the country to receive a 2011 David L. Boren Scholarship for international study. Emma Broming '12 was awarded a 2011 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship; Ashley Toth '11 was recognized a Barry M. Goldwater Honorable Mention and Meghan Thomas '11, received a Fulbright award to teach English in South Korea.

In 2009-10 two Rollins students and one alumna were recognized for their outstanding work. Rollins junior Justin Wright was named as a recipient of a Goldwater Scholarship, Andrea Williamson  '07, '10MBA was chosen for a Fulbright award and Jonathan Stamm '10, was selected by The Elie Wiesel Foundation for Humanity as an Elie Wiesel Prize In Ethics Essay Contest winner.

In addition, during the 2008-09 academic year, a record number of 20 students completed 23 applications for prestigious competitive awards and scholarships. From this pool, five students and one alumnus were awarded an American Graduate Fellowship, a Boren Scholarship, and four Fulbright Awards.  In 2008, Rollins also had three National Science Foundation honorable mentions, and one Hertz Fellowship semi-finalist. In addition to the outstanding student awards, in October 2009, the Fulbright Program recognized that Rollins as the top producing master’s institution in the nation. To learn more about prestigious scholarships and fellowships, visit Rollins' Office of External and Competitive Scholarship Advisement.

Read more about our Six Fulbright 2012 Award Recipents


2010-11 Prestigious Award Recipients

Boren AwardKari Smith

Kari Smith '12  was been chosen as one of 130 students from across the country to receive a 2011 David L. Boren Scholarship for international study.

Goldwater Award Recipients

Emma Broming

Emma Broming '12 (left) was awarded a 2011 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,095 mathematics, science, and engineering students nationwide.


Ashley Toth

Ashley Toth '11 (right) was awarded a 2011 Barry M. Goldwater Scholar Honorable Mention.




Fulbright Award

Meghan Thomas

 Meghan Thomas '11 was awarded a Fulbright U.S. Student Program scholarship to teach English as a foreign language in South Korea.





2009-10 Prestigious Award Recipients

Elie Wiesel Prize in EthicsJonathan Stamm

Jonathan Stamm '10.The Prize in Ethics Essay Contest was established in 1989. Since its inception, thousands of students from colleges and universities across the U.S. have participated. Five prizes for essays in ethics are bestowed annually by The Elie Wiesel Foundation for Humanity.



Fulbright Award

 Andrea Williamson, Rollins CollegeAndrea Williamson ’07BA, '10MBA, was a Fulbright English teaching assistant in Malaysia. She is the 10th Rollins student to receive a Fulbright in recent years.





Goldwater ScholarshipJustin Wright

Justin Wright '11, a chemistry and bio-chemistry double-major was one 278 Goldwater Scholars selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,111 mathematics, science, and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities from across the United States.


2008-09 Prestigious Award Recipients

Rob HoffmanAmerican Graduate Fellowship

 Robert Hoffman ’09, a philosophy and English double-major was one of two students in the country to receive a $50,000 award designed to promote and support doctoral study in the humanities by talented graduates of small and mid-sized private liberal arts colleges. In fall 2009, he entered a doctoral program in philosophy at the University of Pennsylvania.


Fatema KermalliBoren Scholarship

Fatema Kermalli ’11, an international relations major and Jewish Studies minor, was chosen as one of 130 students from across the U.S. to receive a David L. Boren Scholarship for international study.  She spent the 2009-10 academic year studying at the University of Jordan Language Center in Amman.


Fulbright Awards

Kelly Rolfes-HaaseKelly Rolfes-Haase ’09, anthropology major and German minor, spent 2009-10 as an English teaching assistant in Germany.





Trevor O'BryanTrevor O’Bryan ’09, international relations major with minors in economics and German, taught English in German schools.





Kate OsterlohKate Osterloh’09, international relations major, Jewish Studies minor, is a Fulbright research award recipient.  She will live in Egypt and pursue a dual master’s degree in international human rights law and migration and refugee studies at the American University in Cairo.




Chase VanSteenburg

Chase VanSteenburg ’08, graduate in international business with a Spanish minor, taught in Spain.




2008-07 Prestigious Award Recipients

Pickering Fellowship
Shannon BrownShannon Brown ’10,  international relations major, Spanish minor, will serve four-and-a-half years as a Foreign Service officer with the U.S. Department of State.



Goldwater Scholarship

Nick HortonNicholas Horton ’09, physics major, chemistry minor, was selected as one of 321 Goldwater Scholars selected from a field of 1,035 mathematics, science, and engineering students nominated nationwide.

Fulbright Award
Sally WoodsSally Woods ’05, received a Fulbright Award to Spain teaching English as a foreign language.