Faculty

Economics Department Faculty


 Benjamin Balak

Benjamin Balak

407-691-1280 / CSS 260 / bbalak@rollins.edu

Associate Professor of Economics (2002)

B.A., American University of Paris (FR); Postgraduate Diploma, University of Kent at Canterbury (UK); Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Professor Balak's areas of interest include the history of economic thought, economic history, philosophy and ethics, and comparative economic systems and cultures.

Yanan Chen

Yanan Chen

407-646-2527 / CSS 183 / ychen@rollins.edu

Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics (2011)

A.B., Chongqing Univeristy; M.A., Nankai University; Ph.D., Binghamton University

Professor Chen's areas of interest include labor economics, human capital and income distribution, applied econometrics.

 Philip Kozel

Philip Kozel

407-691-1387 / CSS 257 / pkozel@rollins.edu

Associate Professor of Economics (2006; 2012)

B.A., The Ohio State University; M.A., The University of Denver; Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Professor Kozel’s areas of interest include the economics of piracy, history of economic thought, philosophy and ethics, Marxian economics, trade relations and international finance.

 Harry Kypraios

Harry N. Kypraios

407-646-2510 / CSS 261 / hkypraios@rollins.edu

Economics Chairperson / Associate Professor of Economics (1983; 1987)

B.A., M.A., University of Delaware; Ph.D., University of Virginia

Professor Kypraios's areas of specialization include international economics and money and finance.

 Zhaochang Peng

Zhaochang Peng

407-646-1992 / CSS 180 / zpeng@rollins.edu

Visiting Instructor of Economics (2010)

 Robert Reinauer

Robert L. Reinauer

407-691-1339 / CSS 258 / rreinauer@rollins.edu

Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics (2007)

B.A., University of New Hampshire; M.A., University of Massachusetts

Professor Reinauer's areas of interest include economic development, gender and development, Latin American studies, political economy, and macro/international economics.

 Charles Rock

Charles Patrick Rock  

407-646-2152 / CSS 263 / crock@rollins.edu

Professor of Economics (1984; 1993)

B.A., Williams College; M.A., Ohio University; Ph.D., Cornell University; certificate programs at Universite de Grenoble (FR) and Universidade de Lisboa (P)

Professor Rock has taught diverse courses including labor, comparative, non-profit, global, psychological, democratic and utopian economics, as well as courses in political economy, the history of economic thought, economic history, post-communist transitions, economic heterodoxy, human nature, and the "social economy.” 

 Eric Schutz

Eric A. Schutz

407-646-2509 / CSS 270 / eschutz@rollins.edu

Professor of Economics (1987; 1990)

B.A., University of South Florida; Ph.D., University of North Carolina

Professor Schutz's areas of interest include industrial organization, Marxian economics, comparative economic systems, and distribution of income and wealth.

Professor Schutz's Website

 A. Chris Skelley

A. Chris Skelley

407-646-2489 / CSS 259 / cskelley@rollins.edu

Associate Professor of Economics (1987; 1990)

B.A., M.A., Miami University (Ohio); Ph.D., Brown University

Professor Skelley's areas of interest include applied microeconomics, urban economics, public economics and uncertainty and information.

 Rob Steen

Robert C. Steen

rsteen@rollins.edu

Associate Professor of Economics (Emeritus) (1987; 1990-2010)

A.B., Kenyon College; M.A., Miami University; Ph.D., Princeton University

Professor Steen's areas of interest include economic history, urban economics, public finance, and applied microeconomics.

 Kenna Taylor

Kenna C. Taylor

407-646-2312 / CSS 271 / ktaylor@rollins.edu

Professor of Economics (1974; 1984)

B.A., M.A., Ohio State University; Ph.D., University of Florida

Professor Taylor's areas of interest are history of economic thought, alternative economic perspectives, environmental economics, and classroom games and experiments.

 Martina Vidovic

Martina Vidovic

407-691-1380 / CSS 262 / mvidovic@rollins.edu

Assistant Professor of Economics (2008; 2010)

B.S., Penn State University; Ph.D., Binghamton University

Professor Vidovic’s areas of interest are applied microeconomics, econometrics, environmental economics, and health economics.

 Anca Voicu

Anca M. Voicu

407-691-1758 / CSS 272 / avoicu@rollins.edu

Associate Professor of Economics (2006; 2012)

B.A., Academy of Economic Studies, Bucharest (RO); Postgraduate Certificate, Université Catholique de Fribourg (CH); Ph.D., The University of Birmingham (UK)

Professor Voicu's areas of interest include international economics, European emerging markets, genetic algorithms applied to trade modeling, and evolutionary economics.

 Kristy Weick

Kristy Weick

407-464-2569 / CSS 269 / kweick@rollins.edu

Economics Administrative Assistant

B.A., State University of New York at Oneonta