2009-10 Academic Honors and Awards Convocation

A&S Students Recognized for Academic Excellence

On Monday, April 26, the Office of the Dean of the Faculty hosted the 2009-10 Academic Honors and Awards Convocation.  This annual recognition event celebrates the scholarly achievements of Arts & Sciences students.  2010 Academic Awards Ceremony, Rollins College

This year, more than 190 top Rollins students were chosen to receive awards from 37 academic departments and programs ranging from anthropology, to mathematics, to women’s studies. 
Each year during the ceremony, the College also bestows the Outstanding Senior Scholar Awards. One graduating senior from each of the four divisions are chosen for their demonstrated outstanding academic achievement in their major as well in all other academic pursuits.  The selections are made by the faculty members of each division.  This year’s recipients are: Allison Wallrapp (class of 2010) Expressive Arts; Anne Schmalstig (class of 2010) Humanities; Daniel Zietlow (class of 2010); Science and Math; and Julia Humphrey (class of 2010) Social Sciences.

2010 Academic Awards Ceremony, Rollins CollegeThe awards program also includes the President’s Award for Diversity and Inclusion, which recognizes student work, dedication and commitment to diversity.  President Duncan presented the 2009-10 award to Ceria Parks (class of 2010) and Frankie Mastrangelo.

Eight special honors and awards were also presented during the ceremony by the offices of community engagement, explorations and student affairs.

The A&S Awards Ceremony is one of the final programs held at the end of the academic year. Rollins’ 120th College of Arts & Sciences Commencement is scheduled for 10 a.m. on Sunday, May 9, 2010 in the Alfond Sports Center.  For more information on Commencement, please click here.