External & Competitive Scholarships Record Success

Rollins' Office of External and Competitive Scholarships Has Record Success

October 07, 2009


Jay Shivamoggi

 Director of External and Competitive
 Scholarships Jayashree Shivamoggi

The Office of External and Competitive Scholarships at Rollins College is dedicated to helping students discover their intellectual passion and assisting them in competing for prestigious national and international undergraduate and graduate fellowships, grants, scholarships and awards.

During the 2008-09 academic year, a record number of 20 students completed 23 applications for competitive awards, scholarships, or fellowships. From this pool, five students and one alumnus were awarded four Fulbright Awards, one American Graduate Fellowship, and one Boren Scholarship. Rollins also had three National Science Foundation honorable mentions, and one Hertz Fellowship semifinalist. Each of these prestigious awards, scholarships, and fellowships draw applicants from top college and universities and are highly competitive.

In recent years, Rollins has been identified in The Chronicle of Higher Education as a “Top Producer of Fulbright Awards for U.S. Students” and this year was no exception. Rollins had seven applicants for the Fulbright program. From the seven applicants, six became finalists. Three were selected to receive Fulbright teaching awards and a fourth chosen for a Fulbright research award.

“Securing such high-profile scholarships is another indication of the quality of Rollins’ education,” said Rollins President Lewis M. Duncan.  “These accomplishments are significant for a college of fewer than 1,800 undergraduate students.”

Throughout the six years that Director of External and Competitive Scholarships Jayashree Shivamoggi has led this program, Rollins students and alumni have achieved a remarkable number of awards, including a Ford Foundation Fellowship, seven Fulbright Awards, two Goldwater Scholarships, a National Science Foundation Fellowship, a Pickering Fellowship and a Udall Scholarships.  Shivamoggi, who helps identify candidates and advises them on which fellowship, grant or scholarship to apply for, credits the success of Rollins’ students to faculty advising and support.

“At Rollins, we have an engaged faculty who develop close and collaborative relationships with students.  Students and faculty are truly partners in scholarship,” she said.  “Students work very closely with faculty members during the competitive scholarships application process and our faculty know the students well so their letters of recommendation are strong, which is a key to the application process.” 

Associate Professor of Modern Languages and Literatures Nancy M. Decker, who has successfully advised students interested in competitive awards, believes that Shivamoggi has created a new sense of possibility among students and developed a structure that gives faculty confidence that student applications will reflect positively on Rollins.

“Jay provides early encouragement for the best candidates, shepherds them through multiple drafts of their applications and brings together rigorous interview committees,” said Decker.  “Our students have always been very good, but Jay’s process allows faculty members a chance to articulate a more well-rounded picture of each candidate’s strengths and challenges.  The success recent candidates have had encourages next year’s students to follow in their footsteps.  Having two students going to Germany next fall as Fulbright Scholars allows me to push beginning and intermediate language learners to persevere – the results of the scholarship process speak for themselves.”

The following highlights the 2008-09 successes of Rollins students and alumni:

American Graduate Fellowship

Robert Hoffman (Class of 2009), a philosophy and English double-major, is one of two students in the United States to receive a $50,000 award designed to promote and support doctoral study in the humanities by talented graduates of small and mid-sized private liberal arts colleges. This fall, he will enter a doctoral program in philosophy at the University of Pennsylvania.

Boren Scholarship

Fatema Kermalli, (Class of 2011), an international relations major and Jewish studies minor, has been chosen as one of 130 students from across the U.S. to receive a David L. Boren Scholarship for international study. She will spend this year studying at the Qasid Institute in Amman.

Fulbright Awards

Trevor O’Bryan, (Class of 2009), international relations major with minors in economics and German, will teach English in German schools.

Kate Osterloh, (Class of 2009), international relations major, Jewish studies minor, is a Fulbright research award recipient. She will live in Egypt and pursue a dual master’s degree in international human rights law and migration and refugee studies at the American University in Cairo.

Kelly Rolfes-Haase (Class of 2009), anthropology major and German minor, will spend next year as an English teaching assistant in Germany.

Chase VanSteenburg, (Class of 2008), graduate in international business with a Spanish minor, will teach in Spain.

National Science Foundation Honorable Mentions

Nick Horton (Class of 2009)

Tyler Kartzinel (Class of 2007)

Melanie Tumlin (Class of 2007)

 Hertz Fellowship Semi-Finalist

Nick Horton (Class of 2009)

Students interested in learning more about External and Competitive Scholarships should contact Jay Shivamoggi at jshivamoggi@rollins.edu or ext. 2346.

For more information on the 2008-09 awards, please visit:

American Graduate Fellowship
Boren Awards
Fulbright Program
Hertz Foundation
National Science Foundation